An autonomous research institute under the Ministry of Finance


The Chairman

Dr. Vijay Kelkar


Phn.No.: 26569303 Ext - 110

email id:


Dr. Kelkar assumed office as Chairman on 1st November, 2014.


He was awarded PADMA VIBHUSHAN, the second-highest civilian award in January 2011.  He was the Chairman of the Thirteenth Finance Commission until January, 2010. Prior to that, he was Advisor to the Minister of Finance (2002-2004), and is known for his role in economic reforms in India.  He was also the Finance Secretary in 1998-99, and in 1999 he was nominated as Executive Director of India, Bangladesh, Bhutan and Sri Lanka on the Board of the International Monetary Fund.  


Besides, he has held various notable positions in Government, Public and Private Sectors.  Dr. Kelkar is also Chairperson for a Committee constituted by the Government of India on Revisiting & Revitalizing the PPP model of Infrastructure Development and Chairman for a Committee constituted by the Government of India to prepare a roadmap for enhancing the domestic production of oil and gas with sustainable reduction in import dependency by 2030.